Wintering

Snowy sunset village scene

We are into those February days where a storm seems to roll through with some regularity. Tuesday seems to be the day of choice this year, as we will have 3 in a row this week. The snow will add a blanket to my plants, keeping them insulated from any biting cold that might settle in. It is nice to be able to spend cozy days with a book or in my studio when it is stormy.

I have gotten out twice on my snowshoes, and hope to get in a several more this month. That is the sort of exercise I enjoy, outdoors moving in the fresh air. Before the snow flies tomorrow I might be able to squeeze in a quick trek. The tracks today at the park showed cross country skiers, walkers and snowshoers had all felt the call to get outside, yet no one else was in sight.

When I am at work I can watch the flakes through the huge windows, it is a bit like being in a snow-globe. I have a friend who has equipped their home to age in place. They added an elevator which will allow them to enjoy one of the most amazing rooms I have ever seen. Perched on the roof is a glass sitting room that looks out over the treetops, not a neighbor in sight. The room, complete with a wood stove, would be my choice of places to watch a snowstorm from.

Leave a comment