Really large doors

10-30-2015_012

When I was walking over to the Spaulding facility in Boston I passed this building and was struck by the size of the doors. I wonder what was drawn through them that they were made so tall. A boxcar could easily fit, maybe at one point trains pulled through the whole length of this very long building to be loaded or unloaded, any tracks are long gone so that is just a wild surmise on my part. I would bet this building is at least a block long, and it being so close to the shipyard it has to be linked to that history. When I pass old buildings like this I always want to know the backstory, and love to see a plaque on the wall that tells it. Otherwise I am at the mercy of remembering to check into it on my own or remember to ask a local when I meet one. Just another tidbit of history awaiting explanation.

Leave a Reply

