Swimming lessons

10-14-2012_067

A couple of years ago while I was out back seeing what was new at the stream I heard a slap on the water just around the bend from where I was. To my surprise there was a small beaver in a wide spot of water. The stream flows between 2 swampy areas and has several stretches of rocky, small water spills that meant this little guy had to clamber over the rocks to get to this perfect spot to work on his strokes in peace and quiet.  I stood for some time watching the lessons, and the diving, slapping and the sitting that went on as the beaver kept a wary eye on me.

10-14-2012_092

It is the only time I have seen a beaver back there, and no dam has appeared so I guess this was just a workout spot he used as he was passing through and I was fortunate enough to be there at the time.

Leave a Reply

