Van Gogh-ing along

Iris blooms 2

It has been a busy couple of weeks with graduation, tournaments, finals and general end of the school year stuff. So last evening when I ended up at Maplewood Farm in the garden it was a welcome respite. I could easily have laid down between these two clumps of irises on the cooling grass and happily drifted off to sleep.

Iris blooms 1

The evening sun washing over me, illuminating each clump differently yet not changing their inherent beauty. No wonder Van Gogh was drawn to them. They seem to exude a sense of peace, so calming to the eye. I didn’t give into the urge to sleep, and instead stayed up and moving, getting photos to take with me to view on the inside of my eyelids as I fell asleep in bed later, hoping to turn that feeling of serenity into a good night of sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

