It’s about Peggy

12-23-2012_066

Because my mom doesn’t do email I often am the one getting news from far-flung relatives to pass on to her. This is fine, except when it is an email like today’s that inform me my oldest cousin has weeks to live. I don’t like to be the bearer of bad news, and I had to re read the email several times to make sure I understood it correctly even though it was very clear. It was just my mind that didn’t want to decode it as it was. Now it doesn’t matter that I haven’t seen this cousin in close to 6 years and hadn’t in several decades prior to that, she was after all an adult when I was just a little kid. It is the sudden feeling of the family contracting that tugs on the heartstrings. There is no family that hasn’t gone through it, that is the only solace that can be taken. And so I end the week on a melancholy note as I pick up the phone to call my mom, which I am glad I still can do.

2 thoughts on “It’s about Peggy

Leave a Reply

