These quiet final days

window bw

 

Out for a walk on Christmas Day I happened upon this old window etched in frost, as if recording these last few days of the year. It doesn’t seem possible the final lines are being written so soon, yet once again the new year is upon us. It makes me pause to gather in the strands of the year that haven’t yet slipped into history, to see if I can hold onto them for just a moment more. Of course I can’t, but it does force me to slow down and savor what remains.

One thought on “These quiet final days

Leave a Reply

