Gliding by

6-22-2013_032

 

With all the rain we’ve had recently there is plenty of water to paddle about in, not a very summery start to the season. And yet, there is a peculiar silence that this weather has brought. Everything is muted, buffered by waterlogged leaves and so still. It is as if everything is holding its breath. Once dawn breaks the birds fall silent and no sound breaks the quiet. What is being listened for? And will I hear it? I am trying hard to listen, to decipher signs and signals with varying success.  I am by no means creating a lovely scene as this duck, but I can try to leave something beneficial in my wake. I guess at the end of the day, that is a good goal to have, it sure beats leaving destruction.

And so, like this duck I will glide by for now in this well watered world.

 

Leave a Reply

