The end of April

Time has flown by, and now it is the end of poetry month. Though I celebrate poetry all year long, I enjoy sharing some of the gems I find with friends and family. So, to close out the month I am bringing you the following poem which I feel captures the grandeur and immensity of the emotion the poet is writing about. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

11-18-2012_080_1

………………………………………………………………….   After Years

…………………………………………………….Today, from a distance, I saw you

…………………………………………………….walking away, and without a sound

…………………………………………………….the glittering face of a glacier

………………………………………………… …slid into the sea. An ancient oak

…………………………………..……………. …fell in the Cumberlands, holding

……………………………………………….. ….only a handful of leaves, and an old woman

………………………………………….. ……….scattering corn to her chickens looked u

…………………………………………….. ..    ..for an instant. At the other side

……………………………………………… …. .of the galaxy, a star thirty-five times

…………………………………….. ………….. ..the size of our sun exploded

…………………………………………………. ..and vanished, leaving a small green spot

…………………………………………………….on the astronomer’s retina

…………………………………………………….as he stood in the great open dome

…………………………………………………….of my heart with no one to tell.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….Ted Kooser

Leave a Reply

