The tempo of my days

3-15-2013_028

Recently I have been noticing that my days are falling into a sort of no man’s land, neither full and productive nor stagnant and aimless. It is as if I am moving slowly as if time were not of the essence. I am trying out new techniques for the fun of it to see the results. Some things have stalled and are hard to reawaken. Maybe it is end of change of season sluggishness, or lack of a plan. Either way I need to shake it off and not let it get a toehold on my days. I find when I am out and about with my camera my images are taking on an abstract or contemplative quality instead, which puzzles me as I am not sure why that is so at this particular point in time.  I am like a cat pausing mid stride by something that has caught its attention. And while that is okay, it is also too easy for it to become a distraction that stops all progress, and I don’t want that to happen. Creativity can too quickly become submerged beneath things that seem on the surface to be noteworthy and end up being timewasters.

My friend and I are looking to return to the workplace after years here and there. It is no easy task as anyone who is jobhuntin knows. The classifieds are full of job acronyms that mean nothing to either of us, or jobs that are way off the mark. Skills that were vital for the last job are now either outdated or replaced by technology. We are enjoying our get together time though, brainstorming and passing on information, trying to piece together the job market and where we might fit into it. It challenges us in unexpected ways as the old methods of job hunting have shifted in the current times, it also can make you feel as if you have missed the bus and it’ll be a long wait until the next one. Where we worked together years before has since closed up, not from competition but a sign of shifting markets.  It will all work out in unexpected ways, just as it did when we both ended up at the same place so by chance.

Leave a Reply

