The Return

I mentioned back in Quietude that I was cardinal free due to the call from Rome. Now the conclave is over and on Saturday I looked out my window to see that my cardinal was back. I grabbed my camera to get a quick picture before he headed home to sleep, long flight, jet lag and all.

Cardinal

The chickadees, nuthatches and tufted titmouse were delighted and all flocked to say hello and share a communal meal with a side of conversation.  I think it is funny that he was nowhere to be seen during the conclave, the food was there. Obviously I know little about the secret life of cardinals. Now that we are looking at another storm of heavy wet snow I expect to see many feathered friends at the feeder, and some furry ones who hog all the seed. I find my feeder to be a place for me to meditate while watching, we often call it bird tv. My thoughts move in different patterns, reaching new conclusions as I watch the activity. Watching birds is not unlike watching a cat sleep, both have a soothing quality, an acceptance that there is little to worry about. I need to take away that lesson and not let things beyond my control take root in my mind. No easy feat I know, but keeping the intent in my mind and focusing on the fact that “all this shall pass” helps.

 “All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.” Julian of Norwich

Leave a Reply

