The Turning of the Year

12-30-12.2

The last hours of 2012 are winding down. It is that contemplative point in the year where time seems to slow a bit to allow us the chance to revisit the past year before plunging into the new one. I like the special silence that seems to accompany this moment, the expectant hush between the breath of the current year and the one to come. It gives me a chance to take stock of what steps I want to in the new year, and what worked over the past 12 months.

12-30-2012.a

I have been able to set aside more time for art and photography.

I have set up a studio so the art isn’t just leaning in stacks at home.

I have taken more chances with my art than I did in 2011.

I have hiked more and hiked new places.

I started a blog.

I shed many unneeded items to streamline my life.

on the flip side

12-28-2012_036

I have not yet gone beyond baby steps in many things, preferring slow, comfortable progress to potential big payoff chances.

I have not written as much as I would like.

I have not made the best use of my time, but am working on it. (there are just so many books to be read!)

I have not taken a painting or writing class.

So here’s to 2012 and to 2013,

may all of you move consistently along the path you are blazing and keep your creativity flowing!

Happy New Year to all of you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

