Falling out of Idleness

I have been able to get out many times during the past month to enjoy the beautiful fall colors and skies. I think it is one of the best autumns, though that may be because I am getting out with my camera more. Some mornings it is tough to get out of bed in the dark and get under way, and some days I don’t get anything great. But I am getting out. If I don’t push, I will snuggle back into the covers telling myself I will do it later, which of course is always beyond the current time. Too many times I get an idea and shelve it “for later” or make a half hearted start which peeters out, both of which lead to the feeling of never accomplishing anything. To combat this I have really made a concerted effort to continually keep moving either in action or thought toward. I have found it at least keeps me moving and creating even if the end product is more experimental than presentable.

As I grow older I find more and more that “make hay while the sun shines” is a very accurate statement, and one I am trying to act upon. If I only focus on errands and tasks (though important) I miss moments like the one above.

Or ones like this, with a rainbow fading into the morning sky.

If I am rushing too much I miss the unusual views that are perched just off the road and up the hill. Life is hectic enough for most of us, and we make it more so by not putting things in the order of real importance. Nothing on TV is worth missing a walk in the woods or park, no sale at the mall is worth not meeting a friend for coffee and a chat, and no lost time can ever be recaptured. May you all fall gently out of idelness and into your life.

Leave a Reply

